The I Hate to Cook Book – review & giveaway – 2 winners (8/25)

Since starting my daughter and me on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet three months ago, I have been doing something I really dislike… spending time in the kitchen!

I have a long list of things I would rather be doing with my limited free time, and cooking and clean-up are not on it. But since I want to see if my daughter’s health improve through diet, I have resolved myself to adjusting the best that I can. So when I heard about The I Hate to Cook Book, I was eager to review it.

Peg Bracken first released this book in 1960. Her daughter, Jo, re-released an updated version 50 years later with a tribute to her mother, who passed away a few years ago.

The book is a compilation of easy recipes and kitchen secrets of Peg Bracken and several of her friends who also hated to cook. They were tired of making the same meals over and over, and joined forces to come up with an easy-to-read and enjoyable book to help others who felt the same way about the kitchen as they did. It is not your typical cookbook.

If you are eager to get in and out of the kitchen as quickly as possible, or if there are days when you feel this way, this is a book for you. It includes 30 everyday entrees to get you started. They’re all easy-to-make and are supposed to taste good (I haven’t tried any yet, but will be), but best of all, the preparation time is quick. There are even sections for planning a potluck meal, menus for when company is coming to your house and suggestions for kids’ birthday parties. Check out the inside of the book.

Update: Since posting this, my mother read my blog and informed me that this book was “revolutionary” back in the day and she received it as a wedding present. And a friend emailed me that her favorite recipe is the one with chicken with avocado and mushrooms. Her father gave her a copy of the original book years ago. I had no idea just how popular this book has been over the years!

Does this sound like a book you’d like to add to your bookshelf? Two people will win a copy of this book!

Mandatory Entry

Leave a comment letting me know why you’d like to win.

Bonus Entries

– Follow my blog on Google Friend Connect (right column) – 1 entry
Follow me on Twitter – 1 entry
Like the I Hate to Cook Book on Facebook – 1 entry
Like Craving the Savings on Facebook – 1 entry
– Subscribe to my blog via email or RSS (right column) – 1 entry

Rules

– Be sure to complete the mandatory entry first! If you want to complete bonus entries, please leave a separate comment for each item. If you are already doing one or more of the bonus entries, be sure to leave a comment stating so!
– This giveaway will be open until August 25 at 11:59 PM Central. I will select two winners using Random.org.
– I will email the winners, who will have 48 hours to respond, otherwise I will select a new winner.
– Only residents of the U.S. or Canada are eligible to win
– No P.O. Boxes, please.

Good luck!

Disclosure: I received a copy of The I Hate to Cook Book for review and two for a giveaway. All opinions are my own.


96 Responses to “The I Hate to Cook Book – review & giveaway – 2 winners (8/25)”

  1. August 11th, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Janet says:

    Wow! This book sounds great…. it definitely has my name on it!! I need it, my family is tired of the 5 dishes I make week after week.


    # 1
  2. August 11th, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I would like to win this book bacause, I too, am tired of making the same thing for dinner week after week. I have plenty of cookbooks, but they become boring after awhile. And I ahte having to be the one to think about what to make for dinner and what to have with it etc. It’s time for something new!!


    # 2
  3. August 11th, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I follow with GFC


    # 3
  4. August 11th, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I follow on Twitter


    # 4
  5. August 11th, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I like I Hate to Cook Book on Facebook


    # 5
  6. August 11th, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I’m a Facebook Fan!!


    # 6
  7. August 11th, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Elaine Lund says:

    I am an email subscriber


    # 7
  8. August 12th, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Barbara says:

    I love getting new ideas; I love food; I’m impatient!
    Barbara


    # 8
  9. August 13th, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Stephanie Butler says:

    I am the worst “cook” on the planet and I need all of the help I can get.


    # 9
  10. August 13th, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Lindsie says:

    I would like to win because I absolutely HATE TO COOK!! My husband does almost all of the cooking, but I would like to be able to give him a break once in awhile.

    elkmeese at yahoo dot com


    # 10
  11. August 13th, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Lindsie says:

    I liked the I Hate to Cook Book on fb!

    elkmeese at yahoo dot com


    # 11
  12. August 13th, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Lindsie says:

    I just subscribed via email!

    elkmeese at yahoo dot com


    # 12
  13. August 13th, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    April P. says:

    I would like to win because there are days that i hate to cook and would love a go-to for those days!


    # 13
  14. August 13th, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    April P. says:

    i follow on gfc


    # 14
  15. August 13th, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    April P. says:

    i follow on twitter
    orangeaugust@yahoo.com


    # 15
  16. August 13th, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    April P. says:

    i like the cookbook on facebook


    # 16
  17. August 13th, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    April P. says:

    i subscribe via email


    # 17
  18. August 13th, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    April P. says:

    i like you on facebook


    # 18
  19. August 14th, 2010 at 9:04 am

    nan lara says:

    because i hate to cook, so i love easy recipes
    nannypanpan at sbcglobal.net


    # 19
  20. August 14th, 2010 at 9:05 am

    nan lara says:

    e-mail subscriber


    # 20
  21. August 14th, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Susan says:

    I’m all about the easy recipes! Would love to win this πŸ™‚

    safoga at gmail dot com


    # 21
  22. August 14th, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Susan says:

    I’m an email subscriber.

    safoga at gmail dot com


    # 22
  23. August 14th, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Susan says:

    I follow you on Twitter (safoga).

    safoga at gmail dot com


    # 23
  24. August 14th, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Susan says:

    And I follow on GFC!

    safoga at gmail dot com


    # 24
  25. August 17th, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Erin says:

    Hey I am a mom of a 1 year old and a 9 year old and wife of a great husband who works 10 hours a day at my full time job and then comes home to cook and play with the family. I could really use the easy ideas to help simplify my time and spend more time with my family


    # 25
  26. August 17th, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Allyson says:

    I’d love to win this book because I have never been the cooking type. I’m a new mother and am now trying to learn to cook, so I can cook for my family! The easier…the better! πŸ™‚


    # 26
  27. August 17th, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Allyson says:

    I’m following you on twitter!


    # 27
  28. August 17th, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Allyson says:

    I like the I Hate to Cook Book on FB


    # 28
  29. August 17th, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Allyson says:

    ‘Like’ Craving the Saving’s on FB too!


    # 29
  30. August 17th, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Allyson says:

    Subscribed to get your emails…i do love to save!


    # 30
  31. August 18th, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Jodi says:

    I would love this book because I HATE to cook! But…I know that it saves us tons of money! I definitely need some good and easy recipes!
    jodidawson at hotmail dot com


    # 31
  32. August 18th, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Jodi says:

    I follow your blog via GFC.

    jodidawson at hotmail dot com


    # 32
  33. August 18th, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Jodi says:

    I follow you on twitter. (tjdawson18)
    jodidawson at hotmail dot com


    # 33
  34. August 18th, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Jodi says:

    I am an email subscriber.

    jodidawson at hotmail dot com


    # 34
  35. August 20th, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Heather M says:

    with 3 kids back to school, working a full time job and trying to run a couponing blog. I used to love to cook but know the thought of getting in there and doing anything and then having to clean it up just makes me ill πŸ™‚ I need this book!!


    # 35
  36. August 20th, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Heather M says:

    I follow you on google friend connect


    # 36
  37. August 20th, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Heather M says:

    I follow you on twitter
    couponprincess7


    # 37
  38. August 20th, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Heather M says:

    I like you on facebook
    (heather miller)


    # 38
  39. August 20th, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Heather M says:

    I subscribe to your RSS feed


    # 39
  40. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    brooke c says:

    it would be nice to have some different recipes other than the ones that I make all the time.


    # 40
  41. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    brooke c says:

    Following cravingsavings on twitter
    @italiaangel80


    # 41
  42. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    brooke c says:

    following through Google Friend Connect


    # 42
  43. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    brooke c says:

    Liked I Hate to Cook Book on Facebook
    (brooke comperchio)


    # 43
  44. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    brooke c says:

    I liked Craving the Savings on Facebook
    (brooke comperchio)


    # 44
  45. August 22nd, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    brooke c says:

    Signed up for email


    # 45
  46. August 22nd, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Julie says:

    I would like to win because I wanted you to know my husband was on the SCD diet for over a year. It is really really difficult, but once you get the hang of it, it’s easy. Hang in there. I am still making the scd yogurt and muffins and other recipes, so I deserve this prize!
    Follow you as jhb.


    # 46
  47. August 22nd, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Julie says:

    And I am now following you on twitter.


    # 47
  48. August 23rd, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Elizabeth says:

    This book sounds perfect for me! I have a small apartment kitchen and it really is not conducive to loving cooking!


    # 48
  49. August 24th, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Wendy says:

    I would love to win this book because I hate to cook and need some easy recipes!


    # 49
  50. August 24th, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Laura says:

    I would love this book because cooking just isn’t my thing. Baking, yes. Cooking, not so much.


    # 50
  51. August 24th, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Randi says:

    I would love to win because I hate to cook, lol! Really it’s the mess afterwards that I hate, but I’m not a huge fan of staying in the kitchen for too long.


    # 51
  52. August 25th, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Danelle says:

    It seems I to have fallen into the same “weekly menu trap” and need to escape from it before I truely do begin to hate cooking.

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 52
  53. August 25th, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Danelle says:

    I follow you via GFC-DanelleJohnson

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 53
  54. August 25th, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Danelle says:

    I like/ follow you on FB-DanelleJohns

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 54
  55. August 25th, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Danelle says:

    I follow you on Twitter-Silvrwolve114(Danelle)

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 55
  56. August 25th, 2010 at 1:39 am

    Danelle says:

    I like/ follow I hate to Cook Book on FB-DanelleJohns

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 56
  57. August 25th, 2010 at 1:39 am

    Danelle says:

    I have subscribed to you via feed (Google Reader)

    danellejohns at gmail dot com


    # 57
  58. August 25th, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Janet F says:

    I would love to have this because it is the updated version of the one my mother had.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com


    # 58
  59. August 25th, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Janet F says:

    I follow on GFC.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com


    # 59
  60. August 25th, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Janet F says:

    I follow you on Twitter – Janetfaye

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com


    # 60
  61. August 25th, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Janet F says:

    I like I Hate to Cook Book on FB – Janet Fri

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com


    # 61
  62. August 25th, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Janet F says:

    I am email subscribed.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com


    # 62
  63. August 25th, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Ashley H. says:

    I would like to win because I can use all the help in the kitchen that I can get πŸ™‚


    # 63
  64. August 25th, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Ashley H. says:

    I’m a gfc follower.


    # 64
  65. August 25th, 2010 at 10:35 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I would love to win because I’m not a fan of cooking. My fiancΓ© does all the cooking. It would be nice to help him out πŸ™‚


    # 65
  66. August 25th, 2010 at 10:43 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I follow you on GFC


    # 66
  67. August 25th, 2010 at 10:44 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I follow you on Twitter @lovelyritaann


    # 67
  68. August 25th, 2010 at 10:44 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I like the I Hate to Cook Cookbook on FB (LovelyRita Ann)


    # 68
  69. August 25th, 2010 at 10:44 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I like Craving the Savings on FB (LovelyRita Ann)


    # 69
  70. August 25th, 2010 at 10:45 am

    lovelyritaann says:

    I subscribe via email


    # 70
  71. August 25th, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Tina says:

    My husband and I would love to win this. He’s sick and tired of the repetitive dinner menu.


    # 71
  72. August 25th, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Melody says:

    I’d like to win so I can try out some new recipes.
    The old “standby’s” are getting…..old.

    Thanks!


    # 72
  73. August 25th, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Katherine says:

    Any cookbook that can save me time would be great – more time to hang out with my little boy!


    # 73
  74. August 25th, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Beckee says:

    I would love to win because i love cookbooks and this one looks really great!


    # 74
  75. August 25th, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Beckee says:

    I follow on GFC


    # 75
  76. August 25th, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Beckee says:

    I follow on Twitter @beckee13


    # 76
  77. August 25th, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Beckee says:

    I like you on Facebook


    # 77
  78. August 25th, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Heidi K says:

    I want to win because I’m excited to find out new ways to save time in the kitchen.


    # 78
  79. August 25th, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Kim says:

    I have heard about this cookbook and would love to try it out!


    # 79
  80. August 25th, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Heidi K says:

    Follow you via GFC.
    heidikittelson @ gmail dot com


    # 80
  81. August 25th, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Heidi K says:

    Follow you on twitter. (@hkittelson)


    # 81
  82. August 25th, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Heidi K says:

    Like I Hate to Cook Book on facebook.


    # 82
  83. August 25th, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Kim says:

    I like I have to cook


    # 83
  84. August 25th, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Heidi K says:

    Like you on facebook.


    # 84
  85. August 25th, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Kim says:

    I like Craving the savings on FB


    # 85
  86. August 25th, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Jody H says:

    I read the reviews on this book and it looks really good. It sounds like the author has a great sense of humor and that the recipes are great.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com


    # 86
  87. August 25th, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Jody H says:

    I follow you with gfc (psychdog).
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com


    # 87
  88. August 25th, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Jody H says:

    I subscribe to your blog via RSS reader.
    hickenfam at hotmail dot com


    # 88
  89. August 25th, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Jessica C says:

    I would love to win because I am a stay-at-home mom who is struggling to keep cooking interesting for my husband and kid!


    # 89
  90. August 25th, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Shelby says:

    I love food and cooking but I don’t want to spend all day in the kitchen. Thanks!


    # 90
  91. August 25th, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Sarah L says:

    Because I want to be a better cook!


    # 91
  92. August 25th, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Sarah L says:

    I follow GFC: sarah_roxy_21


    # 92
  93. August 25th, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Tracy Harper says:

    I’d love to win the book because the title definitely describes me!


    # 93
  94. August 25th, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Tracy Harper says:

    I’m a follower on GFC (tharper31).


    # 94
  95. August 25th, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Tracy Harper says:

    I like I Hate to Cook Book on FB.


    # 95
  96. August 25th, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Tracy Harper says:

    I like Craving the Savings on FB.


    # 96